The Fountain – a review

Welcome back, everyone! It was refreshing to see everyone at SHSIBAE take a well deserved 10-12+ day vacation. Normally our offices here on the 39th floor here at Rockefeller Center in New York City are teeming with people hard at work from sunrise to well after dark.

I saw The Fountain.  You may remember our two big picks not only for this year but for the next several decades (The Fountain and Pan’s Labyrinth). We had extremely high expectations for Darren’s newest offering. How could the maker of Pi let me down?

Well, he didn’t necessarily let me down, but he didn’t really blow me away either. I am actually not sure what I saw. The movie wasn’t as complex as expected–in fact it was fairly straight forward. The visuals were stunning, and no one doubted that. Rachel’s acting was excellent. Hugh’s character was largely annoying, but that isn’t what did the movie in.

Like I said, it didn’t fail. The NYTimes has a review which says it best, which mirrors the thoughts of our own theredouter, perhaps this will be a movie that will have a small cult following in the future, a small group of people who either forgive the shortcomings or think the entire movie is brilliant. What do I think? I’m not sure. And that’s the problem. I think I enjoyed the movie, but he didn’t set out to make a movie I would enjoy while on vacation. He set out to make a sci-fi epic. He set out to blow me away.  I guess I’ll have to go back and watch Pi again to get that effect.

We still have high hopes for Pan’s Labyrinth.

One Response to The Fountain – a review

  1. theredouter says:

    watched a screener of Pans, it was awesome.

Leave a Reply

