WoW, we hardly knew ye

After a lengthy debate with myself, I decided to leave the World of Warcraft.  Detailed reasons why are noted in my treatise from a few weeks ago.  It was a really tough thing to do, to delete my characters that I worked on for over a year, but I knew it was for the best.  I finally had two level 60s to show for all of my hard work, but I threw it away.  But, oddly enough, I actually feel better.  There’s no more “farming” for reputation with in-game factions for specialty potion recipes or armorsmithing plans, no more 5 hour raids, and no more money being racked up on my credit card.  And, when all is said and done, I really just deleted some data.
Honestly, the worst thing about leaving was that I wouldn’t be able to show off all of my tier 1 raiding armor anymore and/or get better armor (and weapons)  to show off at another time.  That’s honestly all the game boils down to, in the end, and that’s really why I left.  Hours of my life wasted, maybe, but it was a good learning experience — or at least that’s what I tell myself.

Anyway, I’m sure I will miss playing, and it’s going to be pretty different for my girlfriend and I until I adjust to not being able to play when she’s playing.  The only worthwhile benefit of WoW is the friendships you can make.  Maybe I’ll spend more time with friendships in the real world now.

Good bye, WoW.  What a long, strange trip it’s been.

3 Responses to WoW, we hardly knew ye

  1. elizabeth says:

    maybe you can talk my boyfriend into making this choice as well.

  2. Gil says:

    It scary but I have seen many parallels in WoW and FFXI. I (and my wife) used to burn hours on end playing Final Fantasy. In total we probably logged 60-70 hours each on our characters. Yes it was very hard to let go but of course it gives us time to get real life things done and to build our real life friendships as opposed to online ones. So overall a good decision for us and for you ^.-

  3. plucky666 says:

    You’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

