Number 6(66) in my spooky media countdown.

Here we are with lucky number six in our randomly placed countdown of scary videogames and movies. Eternal Darkness for the game cube; a game so scary, that it asks you to verify your age before you log into it’s website. The plot for the game is basic, you are trying to uncover the family mystery and as you go through old journals you are transported to that point in time and play through that family members introduction to the magical world that thrives in the shadows.

The most amazing part of this game is that the more bizarre shit that you are exposed to the more the game fucks with your head as a gamer. Yes, the game plays tricks on you. My favorite example is when the sound cuts out and a generic mute icon pops up on the lower right corner of your screen. The common reaction is to grab your remote and try turning up the volume or disabling the mute function. Seconds pass by and insane screaming and evil laughter cut the silence.

This is a game that you play in the dark, stoned to bajesus, and with headphones on. One of my many regrets is loaning this game to someone who left town with it, and whenever the Wii graces my TV, I will be picking this game up once again (and locking it away with the dead hooker and baseball card collection buried underneath my apartment building).

One Response to Number 6(66) in my spooky media countdown.

  1. Dave

    Interesting topic… I’m working in this industry myself and I don’t agree about this in 100%, but I added your page to my bookmarks and hope to see more interesting articles in the future

Leave a Reply

