Spooky Video Game and Movie countdown, 10-7

Sorry for the lack of postings over the weekend. I was sick and the last thing on my mind was keeping up with the countdown. Entries 10 – 8 will be wrapped in one lump form. The series called Final Destination, so amazing of a film series they had to call it a Thrillogy.

The basic concept is that the main character has a vision of his/her death, it usually involves people they know and don’t know. Soon after the vision ends, the main character freaks out and tries to stop the vision from happening. A small group of people is smart (lucky) enough to follow the main character to safety moments before a horrible accident occurs.

The films then get a little boring as we watch the survivors figure out that Death is after them, and that they must work together to find a way to survive.

TIME FOR A RANT:

I really hate it when characters in a horror movie can’t get along to survive whatever nightmare it is that they are facing. Does a life or death situation automatically make your IQ drop 100 points, or does the situation just put you in a retarded state of panic?

I would like to see a movie like Saw have very smart characters in it, that work as a team, and solve the dumb traps instead of walking blindly into them. Hmmm a fishtank is suspended from chains four feet off the floor with the object I need to survive in it. At the bottom of the fishtank there are two holes that I could reach in and grab that object. Oh, my arm was cut by razor blades by putting it in the first hole, and oh fucking no, my second arm is now stuck as well.

I know we watch these films to see the hot dumb chick get her perfect life ruined by being at the wrong place at the wrong time, but I would like to think that the survival instinct would add some bonuses to her saving throws against traps.

ANYWAY…

…just fast-forward past the plot to the juicy creamy nuggets of Goldbergian styles of death scenes that will be sure to stick to your molars for a couple of days after viewing. My favorite is in FD2 where the lotto winner meets his maker. It is comedy gold in a cheesy horror movie wrapper. I would tell you more, but I don’t want to ruin it for you.

The Third movie on DVD has a choose your own adventure style menu system, where you try to beat death at his own game of Mousetrap. Too bad playing the game would mean sitting through the movie again and I don’t think I can do that until next year.

If you try it, let me know if it is worth it or not. I am betting it’s not.

-e

One Response to Spooky Video Game and Movie countdown, 10-7

  1. theredouter says:

    It was just pointed out to me that my math is incorrect. So here is the magical number 7.

    () ()
    ()
    xxxx

    It is charley, the spooky ASCII zombie. Fear him, for he is eeeevvvvviiiiillllllllllllllllllll!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

